Radhanath Swami Receives DY Patil Award For The ISKCON Food Relief Foundation

Published on Dec 02, 2011
In order to recognize, reward and honor individuals with leadership qualities who have shown exceptional talent in categories extending from education to business to bravery, The D.Y. Patil Group, in association with Bhamla Foundation, presented for the first time The D.Y. Patil Annual Achiever’s Award on Sunday, November 13th at the Taj Lands End Hotel in Mumbai, India. Radhanath Swami, along with Radhakrishna Das were there to receive the award for Best Organization in Social Work, on behalf of ISKCON Food Relief Foundation (IFRF).
After chanting the traditional Sanskrit mantra expressing gratitude to one’s teachers, (beginning om ajnana timirandasya), Radhanath Swami spoke of his guru’s compassion; “My guru Srila Prabhupada saw underprivileged children fighting for food that they had picked up from the garbage bin. It was part of his vision to feed such children which today, ISKCON Food Relief Foundation is fulfilling.” After speaking briefly about the activities of IFRF Radhakrishna Das added, “Today we serve 270,000 meals in Maharashtra to underprivileged school going children on all the school working days.”
Speaking on the occasion, Asif Bhamla, president of the Bhamla Foundation and senior leader of the Nationalist Congress Party, stated “The aim of the award is to recognize and felicitate achievers in various fields and thereby inspire the common man to contribute to the society in a meaningful manner. We are honored that these esteemed judges have joined us to spread the message around the world.”
The award was given to Radhanath Swami by Mumbai Congress President Shri Kripa Shankar. The event was attended by a wide array of important guests from Mumbai’s political, entertainment and industrial sectors including Shashi Tharoor, Fardeen Khan, Mr and Mrs Udhav Thakre Gopinath Munde, Jayant Patil, Harshvardhan Patil, Vasant Davkhare, Sachin Ahire, Aadesh Srivastav, Hariharan, Aditi Govikar, Dhanraj Pillai, Leena Mongre, Chaggan Bhujpal, Subhash Ghai, Sonu Nigam, Baba Siddiqui, Poonam Dhilon, Ramesh Sippy, Arti Kailash Sudernath, Tabassum, Rohit Roy, Dolly Bindra, Raj Thackrey, Jackie Shroff, Rajeev Shukla, Eknath Khadse, Yash Chopra, Salman Khan, Dilip Tahil, Deepika Padukone and Justice Dharmadhikari.
Category Tag